top of page

Mō Mātou
About Us

Ko Waipuna aa rangi te rōpū e whakakanohi nei i ngā hapū me ngā iwi e 45 puta noa te rohenga a Entity A.
Waipuna aa rangi represents and advocates for all 45 hapū and iwi across Entity A.

We exist to be a voice for mana whenua across Entity A as defined in the Water Services Reform Programme.


At the heart of the reforms is ensuring all New Zealanders across the motu (country) have access to safe and reliable drinking water, wastewater and stormwater - Waipuna aa rangi believes this principle should override all others.


As part of these reforms, the proposed new Water Services Entities must give effect to Te Tiriti o Waitangi, remove existing barriers and prioritise system design on incorporating solutions that give effect to Te Mana o te Wai and addressing Iwi/Māori rights and interests.


This means that all hapū and iwi must be engaged, participating and determining their priorities and opportunities throughout the transition process.


If you are mana whenua in Entity A, we exist to help represent your interests.

I whakatūria a Waipuna aa rangi hei whakakanohi me te waha i ngā hiahia a ngā hapū me ngā iwi e 45 puta noa i Te Tai Tokerau me Tāmaki Makaurau, otirā ngā hapū me ngā iwi mana whenua e 19 puta noa i a Tāmaki Makaurau hoki.

Waipuna aa rangi exists to represent the interests of the 45 hapū and iwi across Northland and Tāmaki Makaurau, including the 19 recognised mana whenua entities across Tāmaki Makaurau.



Tukoroirangi Morgan is the Chair of  Waikato-Tainui Te Arataura, the executive board for Te Whakakitenga o Waikato, a role he previously held from 2006 - 2012. Tukoroirangi has also worked in journalism, education and was elected to Parliament in 1996 as the MP for Te Tai Hauāuru. Tukoroirangi has held a number of executive roles including Co-Chair of the Waikato River Authority and Chair of the Tainui Development Authority.

Screen Shot 2022-11-25 at 3.47.57 PM.png

Ngāti Whātua

Anahera Morehu is currently the Kaiārahi at the the University of Auckland Faculty of Business and Economics where she previously held the role Kaiwhakahaere Toi Aronui me Māori me Moananui-a-Kiwa at Te Tumu. In her spare time she is a Ngā Kaiwhakahau member (National Council) of Te Rōpū Whakahau, on the LIANZA Professional Registration Board, Māori Subject Headings Governing Group and previously served four years as LIANZA Hikuwai Regional Councillor.


Ngāti Manuhiri

Terrence (Mook) Hohneck is the Chair of Ngāti Manuhiri Settlement Trust. As the lead treaty negotiator for Ngāti Manuhiri, Terrance has negotiated several treaty settlements and supported hapū and iwi towards ratification and advancing their tribal aspirations. He has extensive governance and management experience and currently sits on the Independent Maori Statutory Board IMSB, Mana Whenua Forum (MWF) and Hauraki Gulf Forum (HGF).

Screen Shot 2022-12-01 at 10.37.08 AM.png

Ngāti Wai

Aperahama Edwards is the Chair of Ngātiwai Trust Board and Trustee for Matapouri Marae. He as a proven track record in te reo leadership in his kainga and across the region as Tai Tokerau Chair and Spokesman to the National Te Kāhui-ā-Iwi o Te Mātāwai. Aperahama has served Ngātiwai across a variety of roles at both local and national levels, including as the current Chair of the Ngātiwai Treaty Claims Committee.


Te Kawerau ā Maki

Te Warena Taua is currently the Executive Chair of Te Kawerau Iwi Settlement Trust. He studied at Auckland University and the Auckland Institute of Technology, graduating with a B.A. in Māori Studies. Te Warena also served as an Ethnologist at Tāmaki Paenga Hira (Auckland War Memorial Museum) from 1984 to 1996. He is currently undertaking a PhD on the Tūpuna Maunga of Tāmaki Makaurau.

Screen Shot 2022-12-01 at 10.18.00 AM.png

Te Rarawa

Born and raised in Kaitaia, Haami Piripi ONZM is the current Chairman of Te Rarawa. After graduating from Massey University with a Bachelor of Social Work, he worked as an office clerk, youth worker, vocational guidance counsellor, treaty claim negotiator and policy manager. Haami later went on to serve as the Māori Language Commission Chief Executive from 2000 to 2007.

Screen Shot 2022-12-01 at 10.20.15 AM.png

Ngāti Hine

Pita Tipene is the Secretary General of Ngāti Hine. Coming from an education background, he has taught in many Tai Tokerau secondary schools and worked across various regional and national administrative roles in the education sector. He is the current chairman of the Ngāti Hine Forestry Trust and held a variety of other hapū and iwi governance roles including Te Runanga o Ngāti Hine, the Waitangi National Trust, and the Federation of Māori Authorities.

Ngā pātai

Frequently Asked Questions. Below you will find a range of frequently asked questions related to Waipuna aa rangi and the Water Services Reform Programme.

  • I whakatūria a Waipuna aa rangi mo te aha?
    Why does Waipuna aa rangi exist? The delivery of drinking water, wastewater and stormwater is changing. These services will soon be delivered by ten publicly owned, locally led water services entities. All ten Water Services Entities must: give effect to Te Tiriti o Waitangi remove existing barriers and prioritise system design on incorporating solutions that give effect to Te Mana o te Wai; and address Iwi/Māori rights and interests. The structure of Water Services Entities includes what is called the “Regional Representative Group” which is designed to provide regional and local level direction and oversight, including joint monitoring of Water Services Entities. The Regional Representative Group–or RRG–is made up of an equal number of local authority representatives and mana whenua. All iwi and hapū within Entity A are entitled to be involved in the design, establishment and implementation of the key transition workstreams for the Water Services Entities. Waipuna aa rangi facilitates this.
  • He aha a Waipuna aa rangi?
    What is Waipuna aa rangi? Waipuna aa rangi is the representative body established to collectively represent the interests of, and advocate for, the 45 hapū and iwi within the catchment area called Entity A as determined by the Department of Internal Affairs. Ko Waipuna aa rangi te rōpū e whakakanohi nei i ngā hapū me ngā iwi e 45 puta noa te rohenga a Entity A. Waipuna ā rangi represents and advocates for all 45 hapū and iwi across Entity A.
  • He aha ngā mahi a Entity?
    What does an Entity do? Following the transition from Three Waters which saw four Water Services Entities established, there will now be 10 entities under the Water Services Reform Programme. There is no change to Entity A, which means Waipuna aa rangi remains the representative body for hapū and iwi across Te Tai Tokerau and Tāmaki Makaurau The entities have been defined by the Department of Internal Affairs as: Entity A - Auckland and Northland Entity B - Waikato Entity C - Bay of Plenty Entity D - Taranaki Entity E - Manawatu-Whanganui Entity F - Gisborne/Hawke's Bay Entity G - Wellington Entity H - Te Tau Ihu Entity I - Canterbury/West Coast Entity J - Otago Southland Find out more about the Entities here.
  • Kei whea ngā kōrero a te Kāwanatanga mo ngā whakahoutanga?
    Where can I find out what the Government is saying about the reforms? The lead government agency is Te Tari Taiwhenua (the Department of Internal Affairs or DIA). DIA has compiled their own list of Frequently Asked Questions about the reforms. If you can't find the answer to your pātai, you can email DIA directly at
  • Me pēhea au e taea te whai wāhi atu ki ngā kōrero me ngā pānui a Waipuna aa rangi?
    How can I keep up to date with the work of Waipuna aa rangi? We want everyone who is interested in keeping up to date with our work to stay in touch. You can either subscribe to our pānui here or regularly check our website! Whai wāhi atu ki ā mātau pānui!
bottom of page